• Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Youtube
You are here: Home » WORLD NEWS

Imran Khan sworn-in as Pakistan PM, Navjot Singh Sidhu in attendance

Pakistan President Mamnoon Hussain administered the oath to Khan.

NMF News Bureau | Updated: 18 Aug 2018, 10:54:57
Imran Khan Imran Khan

Islamabad: Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) chairman Imran Khan was today sworn-in as the 22nd Prime Minister of Pakistan at the President House today.

Pakistan President Mamnoon Hussain administered the oath to Khan.

Khan, who led the Pakistan cricket team to their only World Cup victory in 1992, assumed the prime ministerial post after more than two decades, since joining politics in 1996.

From India, former cricketer and Congress leader Navjot Singh Sidhu, was in attendance.

Other cricketers such as Kapil Dev and Sunil Gavaskar, who was also invited by Khan, earlier confirmed that they would not be participating in the event. While Dev cited 'personal reasons', Gavaskar also declined the invitation owing to his commentary commitments for the ongoing Test series between India and England, the report said.

On Friday, Khan was elected as the new Prime Minister of Pakistan, defeating his rival Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) candidate Shehbaz Sharif. 

In the July 25 general elections, the PTI had emerged as the single largest party with 116 seats. 

After being elected as the prime minister, Khan pledged to bring a change which according to him "the country was awaiting for last 70 years". He assured to identify the people accountable for "looting the country", as per the report.


First Published: 18 Aug 2018, 10:50:47

Photo gallery
----------- Advertisment-------------
----------- Advertisment-------------
----------- Advertisment-------------
Travel »